Jakarta Komodos Junior Rugby Club Wraps up 2016 Season


The Jakarta Komodos Junior Rugby Club (JKJRC) held its season-ending nosh-up at its grounds in Jagorawi on Saturday. The fun day, including a number of activities for children of all ages, included a five-star barbeque, awards and games, including a backyard-style waterslide, a club photograph and a chance for the junior club members to watch the Senior Team in action.

JKJRC Chairman Jess Djamhoer thanked the junior club sponsors for their support throughout the season. “Our club prides itself on developing rugby in Indonesia and we have been lucky enough to be able to support more than 60 Indonesian kids, both girls and boys, who want to play the game we all love,” Jess said. “We’ve been able to take four boys abroad on their first international trips to compete overseas, and three of our young woman from the Mama Sayang Orphanage were recently selected for the national 7s team. None of this would have been possible without the support of our sponsors.”

The sponsors, who were presented with certificates for their support developing grass-roots rugby in Indonesia, included DHL Indonesia, restaurant Fez and Kinara Cuisines of Indiain Kemang, global real estate services firm Jones Lang Lasalle, oil and gas equipment supplier Kontrol Indo Raya, mining services company Britmindo, Sports Turf Solutions, Becca and Danone Indonesia and its Aqua water and Mizone sport drink brands. As well as Pricilla Hall Memorial Foundation and Britcham’s Giving kids a sporting chance.

The highlight of the Komodos’ season is this Saturday with the 2016 Jakarta 10s. Entry is free to what is expected to be the club’s most popular and successful tournament to date.

Season winners

Under 8s
Best team player: Connor Murphy
Best scorer: Liam Ryan
Best tackler: Tobey Braithwaite
Most improved: Orin Morrish-Hale

Kranggan Kids
Best team player: Akbar Maulana, Haikal Usiansyah
Best scorer: M Yuda, Pandu Pamunngkas
Best tackler: Rival Rivai
Most improved: Khania Lismanda

Under 10s
Best team player: Tony Meadows
Best scorer: Honey Proudfoot
Best tackler: Ethan Morrish-Hale
Most improved: Mischa Hewitt
Best Back: Jasper Brown
Best Forward: Blake

Under 12s
Best team player: James Briggs
Best scorer: Yuji
Best tackler: Anjas Ferdiansyah
Most improved: Ramadhani Saputra
Best Back: Ty Otto
Best Forward: William Fisher

Under 14s & 16s
Best team player: Jan Winkelhuijzen, Sam, Brendon Koen
Best scorer: Takuya Kanari
Best tackler: Takuya Kanari
Most improved: William Coup
Best Back: Charlie Willcock
Best Forward: Pacific Smiley

Best team player: Michelle Clementine
Best tackler: Ade Gloria
Most improved: Risna Palodang
Best Back: Moureen Runtunuwu
Best Forward: Indah Rawis